Khaki Campbell ducklings

Khaki Campbell ducklings

We have Khaki Campbell ducks for their egg laying abilities. Our original ones were great and laid year round apart from a few weeks off in late December/early January. Unfortunately they are not very good at hatching eggs or rearing ducklings, so after a while I needed to get some more. Our friend gave us some but I don’t think they are very good Khaki Campbells as they don’t lay nearly as well and some of them have some white on them. They do seem to be marginally better mothers though and each year at least one manages to sneak off and hatch out some eggs. 

A week ago Timothy reported that one of the ducks had eight ducklings so I ventured forth to catch them. I called the ducks into the pen and was very impressed that the mother duck managed to bring 5 of her 8 ducklings with her. I caught those 5 and put them in a separate duckling rearing pen. I then found and caught the other 3 and added them to the pen. Finally, I caught the mother duck and put her in with them since she seemed a reasonably devoted mother. The next day one of the ducklings was dead and another one looked none too good. This has become a daily occurrence until we only have 2 ducklings left. Two of the ducklings had definitely been attacked by something (probably a stoat or ferret) but the rest had no marks on them – just limp little bodies in the grass.

Next time – no matter how devoted the mother – the duckling will be coming inside where I can keep a close eye on them!

Duck and ducklings

Duck and ducklings

